When God Says No

God's NoThe construction cones began to block the traffic. Lane changes funneled the cars into one lane. Traffic was backed up for blocks. Old buildings were being torn down. The street was widened and the process seemed endless.

I grumbled because my route to work was slowed down. I mumbled because I couldn’t see what was wrong with the old road. I complained because the news had published the cost of this project.

The long construction process is now complete. I can no longer go the direction I once traveled. Traffic has been redirected.

But much to my amazement…

I discovered the new way makes more sense!  The new way is much better! The new way is easier to travel!

My epiphany moment caused me to laugh out loud when I saw the spiritual analogy in my own life. How often I have asked the Lord for something…just to hear Him saying ‘no.” I’ve grumbled, mumbled, and complained. He is patient. When I finally stop to look more closely, I see clearly that the Lord has changed my route for His purpose.

His Word tells us in Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

No rejection. Only redirection.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Journaling, Life lesson. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When God Says No

  1. Robin Heim says:

    Yep, been there, done that, the connection was not overlooked. He is SO good, isn’t He?

    Like

Leave a Reply

