A Boy and His Plaid

What can I say about a young man and his plaid pleasure?! Perhaps it is because I dressed Michael in plaid when he was a baby! imagePerhaps it is because his Dad, Grandpa and three uncles all have worn plaid forever!

I memorialized his eclectic choice of attire for his first day of summer camp in 2008. It was only fitting to weave paper strips for the layout design. Shhh! What we didn’t photograph was his plaid boxers!

A few months ago Michael went to the Pendleton Wool store in Portland, Oregon. It did not surprise me when he came home sporting this beautiful blue and charcoal plaid wool shirt. My heart skipped a beat when I saw it. If you are my age or older, you might remember the Pendletones.

Does the name Brian Wilson ring a bell? How about Dennis, Carl, Mike and Al? These five young men changed their boy band name to The Beach Boys and took the music world by storm as the sang all about the California surf scene. On almost all of the covers of their earlier albums, they are wearing this same Pendleton plaid shirt! Pendletons, tees and khakis made up the surfers’ fashion trend.image

“In 2002, Pendleton celebrated eight decades of Pendleton shirts by bringing back iconic shirts from each decade. To celebrate the 1960s, we brought back the Board Shirt in the same plaid seen on all those record covers. We officially named it the Blue Beach Boys Plaid.” 1

Spendy? Yes! Worth it! You bet!

 

 

1 You can read more about the Beach Boys and their Pendletons here: http://blog.pendleton-usa.com/2012/10/03/before-they-were-the-beach-boys-they-were-the-pendletones/

 

This entry was posted in Clothing styles, Family, Scrapbook. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Boy and His Plaid

  1. Lisa Lampkin says:

    LOVE it! Is there a store out there? Maybe we could pay a visit when we come out! Michael has good taste!!

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    What a great story- loved the Beach Boys, but had no idea about that part of the history. Isn’t it funny how things come back around!

    Like

  3. Love this memory and the fact the tradition continues. I have a Beach Boys connection other than the fact I saw them play in concert twice. Eons ago when I was in elementary school we were staying at a Holiday Inn in Boston. Guess who was staying in our hotel? Yep – the Beach Boys. The waitress told us they wanted Frosted Flake cereal for room service. 24/7. We hung around their room but sadly never saw them or their Pendletons.

    Like

  4. Nancy Jambor says:

    Fun walk down memory lane. Loved the Beach Boys and had all of their albums. I remember the Pendelton brand too. Did they make skirts as well as shirts? Thanks for sharing:)

    Like

  5. SKJAM! says:

    I’m fondest of Scots plaids myself, though I have little chance to wear them.

    Like

  6. Marcie says:

    Of course this dates me – but who could possibly forget? Love that plaid…nice to see/hear they’ve brought it back.

    Like

  7. I love that he loves plaid. There is something super cool about a plaid and I particularly like that he is willing to go hard-core multi-plaid. Own it.

    Like

  8. Debbie Goode says:

    I’m so glad I stopped by and learned something new about plaid and the Beach Boys! I love how your boy put all those plaid together…..awesome!

    Like

  9. How great is it that there are historical plaid flannel shirts? I used to live in my flannel when I was younger. I still have the plaid flannel shirt I wore to summer camp when I was a kid.

    Like

Leave a Reply

