What is Baseline?

After my husband’s brain surgeries, we were constantly asked by nurses, doctors and physical therapists, “Is this baseline?” I had never heard this except as a sports term. The player hits the ball and runs the baseline. When I researched the term I discovered if the runner does not run a direct path by going three feet from the baseline, he is considered out. “You’re out!”

In medical terms “A baseline in medicine is the patient’s initial information at diagnosis or assessment against which later tests will be compared.”

Now that I understood the term, I could answer. I could scream “no!” Nine months later, we keep looking for what would have been called normal. What is normal now? Everyday we rewrite normal. We keep trusting The Lord for normal to return…but my screams now seem silent.

I’ve had a lot of time to consider baseline.

What is baseline at home?

What is baseline in my classroom?

What is baseline in our country?

What is baseline in my spiritual life?

Do I just want to accept the way something has always been? Or do I want to keep looking, accept the challenges, charge ahead, and walk by faith. The beginning of the year is an excellent time for me to continue my personal reflection.

“Now faith is the assurance (the confirmation, the title deed) of the things [we] hope for, being the proof of things [we] do not see and the conviction of their reality [faith perceiving as real fact what is not revealed to the senses] (Hebrews 11:1).

“Be assured and understand that the trial and proving of your faith bring out endurance and steadfastness and patience” James 1: 3.

We’re not “out!” We’re “in”… in the hands of the Lord who always understands even when we don’t!

 

 

This entry was posted in Family, Life lesson. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What is Baseline?

  1. Linda Watson says:

    I think that Hebrews 11:11 is “baseline.” It’s all about faith.

    Like

  2. Lisa Lampkin says:

    Thanks for sharing! Good to reflect on!

    Like

  3. Marcie says:

    So much to think about here. I find myself asking the same question – what defines baseline??? I don’t know..

    Like

  4. Very interesting and a very good subject to ponder. I’m not sure what my baseline is – i feel it is changing daily. thanks for sharing this – it got me thinking

    Like

  5. Donna says:

    Good Job Ruthie!

    Like

  6. Lots to think about here Ruth. I’ve been thinking lots lately about control and how each of us tries to hold on so tightly – and yet, how what we’re trying to control is so different for each person, and sometimes even within ourselves from moment to moment. If we loosen our grip, even just a little, it feels like such expansion is then available. And maybe the baseline widens as well.

    Like

  7. Susan says:

    I can see where you would grapple with this. In the end I’d say why settle for baseline?Charge ahead and walk by faith.

    Like

  8. Tiffany says:

    What an interesting way to look at and evaluate your life. I think this is a great thing to do and now that I think of it I actually will be doing something similar to that with my OLW challenge since last month we had some prompts to describe how we are doing our word well and not well right now to see the improvements later.

    Like

  9. Karen Main says:

    Ruth you do have me thinking here. I do not want to accept anything to be as it has always been I want to grow and evolve all the time. For me it is about where things are at today and for tomorrow to improve from there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

