Creative Crisis vs. Creative Calm

A Creative Crisis: my thoughts are tempest tossed

How would I define a creative crisis? What throws me into a panic and forces me into an adrenaline rush in order to seek a solution?

 It’s after midnight and I have run out of adhesive tabs for scrapbook pages. WalMart closed 10 minutes ago!

 I need one particular photo for a page. It is not in the storage box where I thought I put it. I can’t even imagine where I have put the master photo cd.

 The post screws in the album will not turn and I cannot find another screwdriver!

 I’m in my classroom, ready to start the morning project and discover there are not enough supplies for the extra students.

 The sewing machine needle broke. When I get up to look for an elusive replacement package, I step on the broken needle tip which has landed upright in the carpet. Of course, I am barefoot!

 I have a list of a dozen ideas for blog posts. I am ready to write. My fingers are itching to type but my allergies kick in and it is now impossible to see anything because of my teary blurred eyes!

Fortunately for me, the crisis of tempest driven creative seas push me into high speed and I feel the adrenalin rush take over. I used to say “I work well under pressure.” But as I get older, I really try to give myself more time. I’ve got to protect every single brain cell still available. Oops, did I just admit to advancing age?!

 

A Creative Calm: smooth seas for the journey

I was helping a third grader with a 4H poster project and she caught on quickly to the concept of layout and design. Mid-way through her work, she gave me a big smile and confidently said, “Don’t you just love it when a project comes together?” That defines creative calm for me! I understand the task at hand. I have enough supplies. I am not pressed under time restraints. What I have imagined in my mind, is taking shape right before my eyes. I see progress almost immediately.

Being able to graze the abundant fields of Pinterest has a calming effect on me.

Preparing to get down and get creative in a clean, organized space slows down my rapid heartbeat!

Teaching a class…whether it is a scrapbook project for adults or an art project for four and five year olds…causes me to be very happy! I’m happier yet, when the learners are pleased with their completed projects.

Pressing the publish button on my blog editor is a highlight for my day. I see the new post and I wonder who will read and who will comment! No more creative crisis. No catastrophes. Just an overwhelming sense of creative calm because here I go! Get ready! I’m pressing the button to publish…

 

 

This entry was posted in Journaling, Scrapbook. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Creative Crisis vs. Creative Calm

  1. Linda Watson says:

    Oh, yes, I do just love it when a project comes together. Makes all of the crises worthwhile, even though I still try to avoid them.

    Like

  2. Really does make you wonder sometimes what really is a crisis or not. I choose calm, and most of what I think is a crisis really is not. 🙂

    Like

  3. Generally, that crisis you think you are having will not even be a blip on the screen in a few weeks time. Choosing calm is important. These type of things happening may be why i chose the word simplify for the year. This month has been a month of purging, inside and out, and I hope to avert the impending crisis from coming. But – we are human after all. Thanks for sharing – as you can read – it got my wheels turning about what is a crisis and how to handle it!

    Like

  4. Sue says:

    I try to choose calm, really I do! but I always seem to end up in crisis mode. Your post made me laugh to myself because I saw me all over it. For me, I think it’s because I try to squeeze in too many projects at one time. I need to slow down. Thanks for a great post.

    Like

  5. Jean says:

    I DO love it when a project comes together! It is was dreams are made of… Much love, blessings and peace to you!

    Like

  6. I also love it when a creative project gels! Sometimes it happens at the least expected time. I’ve been sick for a couple of days, but in that time, my creativity has been going gangbusters. I’ve been coming up with so many ideas and solving so many technical problems, all while lying on the couch. I’m just glad that I didn’t have to step on a sewing machine needle to get here! (Was your foot okay?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

