The Driskell Wall

Driskell WallAren’t these old photos amazing?!

One glance at this wall of faces and you can tell they have been lovingly framed and arranged in family groups. The cousin who did this grouping also researched each person. He could tell the full name, birth and death dates, place of burial and many more interesting family details! He went one step further by compiling a book of our Driskell heritage. We affectionately call it “the big red book”!

Several years after the book’s publication, I began my ancestry research. I found as much as I could from the limited online sources. I wrote letters. I made phone calls. I pumped my mother for even the smallest detail she could remember. I loved finding the information but I had an insatiable hunger to put faces to the names.

It was my mother who suggested I contact her first cousin. I had met him when I was in college and hoped he would remember me. I carefully drafted the letter to make sure he would understand my request. After all, my mother had told me I better not “be puttin’ him out”…an old Southern expression meaning I better not cause him any extra work. These were the days before digital technology but my cousin was proficient with a copy machine. He had laboriously hand printed his first book!

I asked if he had any photos he could make copies to aid me in my research. I told him I would reimburse him for any expenses. You can imagine my excitement when I sent the letter in anticipation of the package I would soon receive! In my dreams, I could “see” the scrapbook and journal I would make of my ancestry.

About two weeks later a small, thin envelope came from Georgia and it was addressed to me. In it was a paper folded over one picture that measured about 2″ x 4″. The note said “Good luck in your research.” The photo you see on this page is the only photo I received that day. The faces were too small and fuzzy to see. I still know no names! But I suppose in my older cousin’s mind, he had fulfilled my request for photos!!

I am still in search of my ancestors and photos of their faces. My cousin was correct when he said “Good luck”!!

 

This entry was posted in Driskell Ancestry, Family, Heritage. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Driskell Wall

  1. That’s too bad that’s all that was sent to you, one small photo not clear enough to see. On one of our basement walls we have photos of my husband, myself and our children, then of our parents and us growing up, their parents and so on… we have several generations on each side. One day I would love for my daughter to paint a tree on a wall in the basement, and have my husband make nicer frames for each and display them that way. Your post reminds me that I MUST take up genealogy again this year and finish one family book that I had started over 5 years ago.

    Like

  2. Barbara Harp says:

    Oh, to have a copy of the picture on the wall…with the info attached. What I wouldn’t give to see the pictures of my Driskell Great and Great Grandfather’s and Grandmothers. To look into their eyes to know if I resemble them at all. I know I have their blood, but do I look like them, think like them, smile the same, have their mannerisms, have their attitudes, have their work ethics. Did they know that I would be thinking about them when they were gone even though we had never met and know that the person they were in life, I hope I am now? Do they know that I am still searching for the answers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

