Keeper or Tosser?

I recently read a journal prompt: keeper or tosser? Ha! That’s an easy answer for me. It requires no thought. Immediately my fingers began to type.

I am soooooo a keeper! In fact, after David and I were married, we visited his parents in Seattle. I walked into their home, looked around and realized…. I was a stacker who had married into a family of stackers!!

As of 2013…40 years later, I am much better. I’ve gone through boxes, closets, drawers and thrown away stuff….just stuff! David even got on board by cleaning out and rearranging the garage. But oops…we needed to find something quickly and now the garage is again cluttered looking. Stacked. Piled. Bags. Boxes. Maybe for another time…

Now the loft is another story. Our loft is a room which really cannot be seen from below. Anyone sitting in our family room can look up and only imagine what is above them! I do remember the days when the loft was totally clear, not cluttered, even clean. Since it is now an art studio, it is filled with supplies. Let’s say it is somewhat organized. Most all my scrapbook supplies are in the loft, unless I am working on a large album. Then I move some things downstairs to the library area. I feel good about having tons of scrapbook supplies because I love to give away something that a friend might need.

I often keep things because there is always a strong belief that I may need to use the item in a scrapbook. I used to have that feeling about craft projects…but I rarely have time to craft anymore. Those supplies were given years ago to the church for children’s projects. In fact, one day I gathered all my mother’s quilting fabric she had saved and I had inherited. It was such a good feeling to give it all to a ladies quilting group in another church. Their quilts are lovingly stitched and sent to the mission fields.

When I was on staff as children’s pastor, we created our props from cardboard. Our sets were elaborate. The artwork was beautiful and saved! The keeping process was well worthwhile for one children’s musical. We were able to pull from a variety of props. In fact, seven different musicals were represented on the stage in that latest production! One set of cardboard children was used for over ten years! Those large cardboard pieces were used at other churches, on a local high school stage, elementary school carnivals, and private parties! It was good to share the keepsake props!

Our entire family are keepers of books…shelves and shelves and stacks and stacks of books. Did I mention, we had most of my mother’s books, too? And records…long playing records. And pictures…albums and boxes of pictures. And slides…several thousand slides which will one day become pictures…that will join the albums and boxes. Surely in the near future, I will be able to scrapbook and journal those pictures with all of the supplies I have on hand!!

Now, I ask you. “Do you call me a keeper or a tosser?!”

Do you remember I’m a keeper of Carl Sandburg poetry? So…in my best Sandburg style, I write a tribute to my things.

“Scrapbooker and journaler for the world, tool collector, stacker of books, player with paper and the creative community’s craft handler; Sunny, pensive, cut and paster…”

 

This entry was posted in Family, Scrapbook. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

