A Dozen Random Things About Me!

Here are some random things you may not know about me!Ruth in the 70's

I love every single vegetable! My favorites are eggplant, rutabaga, parsnips and brussel sprouts!

I often have more than 20 tabs open at one time when I’m looking for details in my online ancestry research!

I had a dream to publish a book before I was 40. Think it’s too late?! Just in case you don’t know, I was born in 1949. You do the math!

I learned to swim in the Atlantic Ocean when I was 7 years old. I had an incentive to learn quickly because little fish constantly nibbled at my feet!

I reread Catherine Marshall’s book Christy almost every year! The setting is in the Appalachian mountains, home to many of my ancestors.

I was bucked off a horse when I was 19. You know the admonition to get back on the horse? Not me…no way…never been on a horse since!

I once memorized the poem Chicago by Carl Sandburg.  “Hog Butcher for the World, Tool Maker, Stacker of Wheat, Player with Railroads and the Nation’s Freight Handler;  Stormy, husky, brawling…..”

I have never been your basic athletic person. So, one day when I was in high school I realized I had never climbed a tree. I can tell you I successfully climbed it…with the help of one chair and one ladder. Don’t ask me any questions!

My favorite ice cream flavor is Mandarin Chocolate Sherbet. Could we have a moment of silence? Baskin Robbins removed it from their selection over 30 years ago. I just Googled it and can’t believe how many people want it brought back!

I once took a big bite of mashed potatoes…only to discover it was a big bite of freshly ground horseradish! I thought I was dead!

As a child and teen,  I used to faint almost every day. I could see the room getting dark and the next thing I knew, I had cold compresses on my face. No doctor could ever figure out what was wrong. Eventually, I grew out of it.

I won a women’s golf tournament in Canada. I still have the 1976 trophy. Are you impressed? Would you still read my blog if I admit I won because I was the only woman to finish!

That was fun! I may be back sometime with more!!

By the way, the photo above was taken in 1973. Don’t know what to say about the fit of my jeans!!

This entry was posted in Family, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Dozen Random Things About Me!

  1. Liz says:

    What a fun and fantastic post!! I love this. I feel so connected to you and I don’t even know you. Plus your facts were all so fun. Thank you that really lightened up my evening!

    Like

    • Ruth Packard says:

      Thank you, Liz! I wish I had started a journal years ago with fun facts like this. Oh, I shudder now just to think of the brain cells I’m having to use to remember trivia!!

      Like

  2. 6ftmama says:

    Well Ruth, between the veggies and the ancestry work we’d have plenty to visit about if you ever come to Minnesota…

    Like

    • Ruth Packard says:

      Yep! I think someday I need to take a long road trip! To get to Minnesota, I actually would pass through North and South Dakota, two important states in my husband’s ancestry.

      Meanwhile, we’ll just have to meet via technology!!

      Like

  3. Oh what a wonderful post Ruth. Such delightful and intriguing facts – you definitely had me laughing. But I don’t know, between swimming, golfing, horse riding, and tree climbing, I think you get to wear the title athlete. At least modified with “aspiring.” 🙂
    I’m voting for another post of random facts – this is fun.

    Like

    • Ruth Packard says:

      A ha! I love the title of aspiring athlete! But my husband had a good laugh at that one! It was fun to remember these random personal things and I’m working on more to add to my list!

      Like

  4. I love all these little tidbits about you! Thank you for sharing them with us 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: A Second Dozen Random Things About Me

  6. Tineke says:

    I want to get my bike so I can visit you right away. Of course we have to eat (in silence) our delicious Mandarin Chocolate Sherbet. I like you a lot. XXX

    Like

Leave a Reply

