10 Things I Need for Creativity

This post is an exciting one for me. First, I’m writing about creativity and this is something dear to my creative soul! Secondly, I am participating in my first blog circle. We are a group of artists and writers who have all written about the same assigned subject. At the bottom of my post, you will find the link to the next author in the circle.

At first glance at our subject,  I was reluctant to write. I mean really! I know I’m creative…but how could I come up with a list of 10 things I need for creativity? I’m like Nike. I just do it!

For starters, I researched the word need. It is defined as something necessary for one to live a healthy life.  Yes!  That’s all I had to read. Now I could rephrase my assignment. What 10 things would help me live a healthy creative life?!! Got it!

Here is what I need to create my small journals, my scrapbook layout and design pages, my photography, and my blog posts.

1. Rest – I get very little done if I am tired. I’m easily frustrated and feel as though I am in a fog. Creating when I am energetic helps me find focus.

2. Clean and organized space – This one thing does wonders for my creative thoughts! If my workspace is too cluttered, I find myself thinking I should be cleaning instead of creating. Don’t get me wrong…I did not say I need an immaculate space!! I don’t mind a few organized piles!! Who am I kidding? This is only in my creative dreams!!

3. Inspiration – My creative space is upstairs where I can see the tree limbs swaying in the wind. It is restful and just the perfect place to come up with ideas. I am also inspired by color, by photographs of nature, by instrumental music, by vintage items…

4. Goals – I always like to have an idea of how many journals or layouts I need to create. Having a project goal keeps me on task. For instance, during the month of May, I am participating in a blog challenge. We are supposed to write 20 posts and comment daily on the blogs of other writers. For me, that has incentive written all over it!!

5. Brainstorming – I keep lists and notes. I read books and magazines. Don’t laugh at me but I have to confess that I study word webs on thesaurus sites. I love to research and learn new things. Just thinking of lots of different possibilities is important to my creative spirit!

6. Imagination – I let my imagination run when I’m creating something for the first time! I ask myself the following questions: How can I change something? Is there a crazy way to reword something? How can I arrange the objects for a photo shoot? What element of surprise could I include in my creation?

7. Something new – I like to begin the creative process with a different perspective and at least one new idea. Kristal Norton made this suggestion in an online art class: Write down words on slips of paper naming colors, objects, tools, etc. Then as you work on a project, randomly pull out a slip of paper and use whatever is written down. I love that creative concept!!

8. Tools – Having the correct tools for my projects certainly is nice. At this point I need to admit I probably have enough supplies to open a small art store!

9. Time – I love to have uninterupted time to work. Many times you might find my lights on waaaaay into the early morning hours. Deadlines give me an adreneline rush!

10. Hard work – The harder I work and the more I do, really does increase my creativity. My parents always reminded me of the Bible verse, “Whatsoever your hands find to do, do it with all your might…” (Ecclesiastes 9:10a) It can be very late…I mean really late…and I come up with a new creative idea. My mind wants to keep going and working. But this takes me full circle back to my number 1 in this list. You remember? I have to have rest to be creative!!

Stopping to focus on what makes me creative has really been an enjoyable assignment in this blog circle. And while I was writing, I had another creative idea!! I’m going to take this list and create a small journal about Creativity! See what I mean? These ideas just keep coming….

Now it’s time for you to enjoy the next list in this creativity circle blog. Be sure to check out Lulu Bea. She is an amazing artist and designer who focuses on using upcycled, recycled, and repurposed materials.  I can’t wait to find out about her creative soul!!

http://lulusupcyclinglounge.wordpress.com/2013/05/16/creativity-list/

 

 

This entry was posted in Journaling, Scrapbook. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 10 Things I Need for Creativity

  1. Chandra says:

    Yay these are great things to keep you creative! I like the paper scrap idea that Kiristal Morton gave out too in fact I printed her’s out and use them this way I am freeing up my creativity.

    Like

  2. Wow, goals never even occurred to me! And sometimes deadlines make my creativity wild like a screaming banshee. I shall make some goals. I will be like Nike…

    Like

    • Ruth Packard says:

      Ha ha! I need to remember that “screaming banshee” line! 🙂 The only thing I had to learn about goals was not to be so tied to them that you go crazy if the goal is not achieved. That’s the dreaded perfection problem I still have to deal with 😦 One would think that at my age I would have learned!!

      Thanks for encouraging me to do the blog circle!!

      Like

  3. Ah I forgot goals! When I have a specific project I’m working on, such as a custom order, it does sometimes make the creativity flow a bit better. And yet. Sometimes I’m like Kristen Conley too ~ having a specific end in sight can make my creativity clam up like a… well, clam. Love this post, Ruth! And I love how you approached the topic too!

    Like

    • Ruth Packard says:

      Thanks so much, Kristen! Once I got my mind wrapped around the subject, it was a fun list to come up with! Wish my photos had worked. Maybe I’ll have a better mastery by next time.

      Like

  4. You did a great job. You thought of some really great ones! I love imagination. That is definitely a necessity!

    Like

  5. What a great list! I also find that having a goal and specific projects to finish helps me get creating. I love that you included hard work, as it does sometimes take a push to get started and dedication to keep moving. Thanks so much for mentioning my creative exercise, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

    • Ruth Packard says:

      Glad I got to repost your idea! You are absolutely an example of one who demonstrates the results of your hard work! Thank you, Kristal, for being an inspiration to all of us.

      Like

  6. Perfect Ruth – I love how you got rewarded for that little push to “just do” it with another great idea – a little Creativity journal. I really like the tip about incorporating something new – I can feel how expansive would be. I’m going to have give it a try.

    Like

    • Ruth Packard says:

      Thanks so much, Deborah. Now we’ll see about the completion of my idea. That always seems to be my greatest challenge…hmmm…follow through! Got any secrets for that?!

      Seems like a certain blogger (that would be you!!) got me interested in photographing, researching and writing about May flowers! You rewarded me with yet another creative idea! Perhaps someday you’ll see that on a post!

      Like

  7. Liz says:

    I am basically going to copy this list and post it on my wall! Well done!

    Like

  8. Terry says:

    Loved your post! I need lots of inspiration right now. Had to go to my website to get the right address and it really shows that I’ve been in a bit of a slump. I’ve been creating some, but not with the same enthusiasm. Thank you for this post.

    Like

    • Ruth Packard says:

      Terry, You just gave us another thing to add to the list! I never thought about the word “enthusiasm” but that is absolutely needed for creativity. Sorry about your slump…but it’s almot summer now and just the perfect time to create. Longer days, more sunlight, warmer nights! I look forward to seeing what you create!

      Like

  9. Amy Riddle says:

    Wow, Ruth! I am so loving how similar we all are! I love that you study words on thesaurus sites. I’m a fan of words.

    Like

  10. What a great list and creativity is such an important part of our lives!

    Like

Leave a Reply

