Playing with a New Camera

We have come such a long way in the camera world. I laugh when I see my old little Kodak Pocket Instamatic 110. Of course, I wasn’t laughing when I took all my photos in Mexico. It was something special for me in the late 70s! And who would have ever thought the film would once again be available in 2013?!  I “shutter” when I remember licking the bottom of the Magicube flash cubes before attaching them!

David was trying out a new Olympus Digital camera. He snapped this photo in our living room and applied one of the creative effects. I have to admit I was pretty disappointed when he exchanged the camera for another one! I love this effect so now, I’m on the hunt to find a photo editing program that will allow me to do this on my computer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our piano is a 100 year old Brambach baby grand. I give piano lessons in this front room but it would be an ideal art studio with lots of natural light. There are three floor to ceiling windows. When the morning light streams in, we see every particle of dust! Perhaps I love this photo so much because it is impossible to see that dust or the spots on the floor!

What is your favorite photo editing app?

This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Playing with a New Camera

  1. Belinda Rose says:

    Hey Ruth! Looks like you are having fun with your new toy/camera! As an amateur photographer, I have many, many cameras. I don’t use any apps. I stick with Photoshop mostly. I find it gives me more of the effects I seek! Have fun! xo

    Like

  2. Kathy Anne says:

    I look forward to seeing more creative photos, Ruth. I am a visual person and it’s my favorite way to learn. Thanks! Kathy

    Like

  3. Oh new cameras are so much fun! I got a new DSLR (used one) earlier this year and a few weeks ago, I got a 55-300 zoom lens and I’m loving that! I’ve been wanting it forever!! Enjoy the playing 🙂

    Like

  4. Ethan Billhime says:

    Do you by chance do long distance Piano lessons? Can I get a family discount? 🙂 That piano sounds really cool, and I’ll bet it really does sound amazing! (ah, the puns). Thats a really cool picture in general too. Now my creative side is coming out, can you send me a picture that you want the effect done to? I want to see if I can do it by hand.

    Like

Leave a Reply

