Journal vs. Blog…Why Not Both!!

Journaling

The idea of keeping a journal used to bring fear to me. My mother insisted I write and that was a good thing. However, she also wanted to read my thoughts, correct misspelled words, edit, check my penmanship… I balked. Why did I want to have another school assignment? What a shame. Now as an adult I would love to open an old journal to read my childhood thoughts.

Did Mother keep a journal? After she died I found lots of scraps of paper all filled with fascinating memories…tidbits of glimpses into her past. I’ve since spent a long time typing her notes. As I type, I think of questions I would love to have asked.

Fast forward how many years?!! I’m 63 and I have written my own collection of scraps of paper…all filled with fascinating memories! That’s it…no more scraps! I don’t want our children to find boxes of paper pieced word pictures. Several months ago, I decided it was time for everything to go into an official journal. I have chosen to use a three ring binder so it can be organized into sections. And I’ll be able to add what I’ve written on my blog. So now, let’s talk about the joys of online journaling!

Blogging

The idea of writing a blog was new to me last year and somewhat intimidating. But once I thought of it as an electronic journal, I was somewhat comfortable with the idea. Definition: A blog (a portmanteau of the term web log) is a discussion or informational site published on the World Wide Web and consisting of discrete entries (“posts”) typically displayed in reverse chronological order (the most recent post appears first).  Blog can also be used as a verb, meaning to maintain or add content to a blog. (Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blog)

I have enjoyed the concept of expressing my thoughts about a variety of subjects, including memories from pages in our family scrapbooks. Some are of historical and genealogical subjects. Many posts are written about life lessons I’ve learned. I have enjoyed the feedback from family and friends.

The chronological order sometimes bothers me because I tend to want to organize by subject. I am not sure all my readers who are new to “blogdom” know to check the archives or leave comments below the post. When I add a new post, I am hesitant to notify family and friends and thus become a pest. I am learning to add the blog address to everything I write.

Participating in a blog challenge during the month of February has been a real stretch for me. I was surprised to discover: blogging is definitely for me! I also participated in an online marketing class offered by artist Kelly Rae Roberts. She gave me the motivation to sell my art online. So one of my goals this year is to use this site to advertise and sell my handcrafted journals.

One person recently asked me, “What’s the purpose of all this?” My response…even though only a few people might read what I’ve written, the writer in me has expressed myself. And that makes me happy!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Journaling, Life lesson. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Journal vs. Blog…Why Not Both!!

  1. I’m glad you’ve embraced blogging Ruth – you have wonderful stories to share and it’s a delight having access to them!

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    Ruth, I am also a person who was surprised to find that blogging IS for me. I am happy for the feedback from others who find my posts and/or artwork helpful/enjoyable, but it really is helpful to ME to organize and express my thoughts. Blessings to you!

    Like

  3. I enjoyed this so much. I adore blogging because it is my answer to journalling as well.

    Like

  4. I’m finding that blogging most days is not always a substitute for journaling as I find journaling a place to “think out loud”, and so it doesn’t always have to make sense. But I am also finding that, to some extent, blogging can take on that character, and if I just begin a post, without knowing where it’s going go, like water it finds it’s own way to the outlet.
    And having to make that stream logical, aesthetically pleasing, and interesting, keeps me from getting lazy or sloppy as well.

    Like

  5. Belinda Rose says:

    I find my blogging and my journaling to be different in every way. I use my journaling as a way to express my inner self to the Divine…and my blogging is what comes from the journaling! 🙂

    Like

  6. Thanks for the post that defines the blog/journal difference and meshing of the two writing types. I too jumped into blogging and am enjoying to an extent I hadn’t realized I would.

    Like

  7. Michele says:

    It’s interesting…my email to you earlier today about sharing one of the stories on your blog started because someone didn’t know what a blog was 🙂 I sometimes just assume people are familiar with it but that isn’t the case. I’m glad we are all sharing both our stories and what blogging is with others!

    Like

  8. Naomi says:

    I remember feeling odd starting mine a couple years ago too… there seems to be something about making it public that scares family members!

    Like

    • Ruth Packard says:

      Exactly! I know that scary feeling well…which is most likely why I didn’t journal as a child!

      Naomi, your site is incredible! I consider it an honor for you to comment here! I’ve also enjoyed seeing your work in Life Book 2013. Oops, I have to admit I’ve not had courage to post my art! It’s easier to blog!!

      Like

  9. Susan says:

    I consider my blog ‘journaling lite’. It’s for the stuff that’s ok for the world to see. But there are some things I hold sacred, especially the trust of loved ones and friends, to respect their privacy and treat them carefully online.

    Like

    • Ruth Packard says:

      I agree, Susan. Some things are just OFF limits. But so glad Leland’s fashions are considered ok to post!!

      I really like your new blog format…a job well done!! Thank you so much for stopping here to read and comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

